营销 Michael Chen 2 views

How to Compare Solar Street Light Quotes When Battery Voltages Differ

How to Compare Solar Street Light Quotes When Battery Voltages Differ Quick Answer Convert every quote to the same unit before you compare price: usable watt ho…

Quick Answer

Convert every quote to the same unit before you compare price: usable watt-hours (Wh). Nominal energy is Ah × nominal voltage, so a 12.8 V 100 Ah battery and a 25.6 V 50 Ah battery both hold about 1,280 Wh — but they are not interchangeable. Then apply the allowable depth of discharge, the temperature derating for your site, and controller/conversion losses to get usable energy at the load. Compare cost per usable kWh, cycle life at the quoted depth of discharge, BMS limits, controller type, cable sizing, and warranty terms. A quote that only states "100 Ah" without voltage, chemistry, depth of discharge, and test conditions is not yet a comparable quote.

Key Takeaways

  • Ah is a current rating, not an energy rating. Multiply by nominal voltage first.
  • Nominal Wh is not usable Wh. Depth of discharge, temperature, and conversion losses decide what actually reaches the LED.
  • Cost per usable kWh beats cost per Ah — and cost per lifetime kWh delivered beats both.
  • Voltage changes the rest of the system: controller input window, cable current, BMS complexity, series/parallel rules, and low-temperature charging behavior.
  • Normalize the whole quote, not just the battery line: PV array, controller, LED wattage and dimming profile, pole, and warranty terms all move with voltage.
  • Demand documented test conditions for cycle life, capacity, and IP rating. If a supplier cannot state them, treat the figure as unverified.

1. Why There Is No Single "Best" Quote Format

Two quotes can both look complete and still be impossible to compare side by side. One lists a 12.8 V 100 Ah lithium battery; another lists a 25.6 V 50 Ah pack; a third lists a 12 V 120 Ah gel battery with no depth-of-discharge note. All three may be technically valid for the same 40 W LED and the same nightly operating profile, but the numbers on the page share no common unit.

There is also no universally "best" battery voltage. Voltage is a system design decision, not a quality grade. A 12.8 V architecture can be perfectly sound for a compact all-in-one luminaire with a short cable run. A 25.6 V or 51.2 V architecture often makes more sense for higher-power split-type systems on taller poles, where lower current reduces cable losses and connector stress — but it also brings stricter BMS balancing requirements and a different MPPT input window.

The correct comparison unit is therefore not voltage and not amp-hours. It is delivered energy per dollar over the service life, under your site conditions, with the supporting documentation attached.

2. Evaluation Methodology

Use the same criteria for every supplier so that the comparison is defensible in a tender clarification or a procurement committee review. Eight criteria cover most of the risk:

  1. Energy transparency — does the quote state nominal voltage, capacity at a defined C-rate, chemistry, and allowable depth of discharge?
  2. Battery traceability — cell or pack manufacturer, model, serial range, and test report availability.
  3. Controller technology — PWM or MPPT, input voltage window, rated current, and documented efficiency at realistic load.
  4. System-level energy calculation — does the supplier show nightly Wh demand and autonomy, or only component names?
  5. Thermal and environmental design — battery compartment temperature, low-temperature charge protection, IP rating of the complete product versus the component.
  6. Photometric and design support — IES files, DIALux simulation, and a dimming profile that matches the stated nightly Wh.
  7. Warranty clarity — system warranty separated from LED lifetime, battery cycle life, and pole structural life.
  8. Documentation for tender — datasheets, test reports, drawings, packaging and transport documents for lithium batteries.

Score each quote against these criteria before comparing price. A cheaper quote that omits items 1, 4, and 7 is not cheaper; it is incomplete.

3. The Normalization Method: From Ah to Usable Wh to Cost per kWh

Step 1 — Nominal energy

Nominal Wh = rated Ah × nominal voltage

Use the nominal voltage of the chemistry, not the charging voltage. Typical nominal values: 12.8 V and 25.6 V for lithium iron phosphate (LiFePO4) packs built on 3.2 V cells, 12 V and 24 V for lead-acid and gel.

Step 2 — Usable energy

Usable Wh = Nominal Wh × allowable DoD × temperature derating × conversion efficiency
  • Allowable DoD must come from the supplier's datasheet. LiFePO4 packs are commonly configured for roughly 80–90% usable capacity; lead-acid and gel are commonly limited to about 50% for cycle-life reasons. Confirm the figure for the exact model.
  • Temperature derating reflects reduced capacity at low cell temperature and accelerated aging at high temperature. Ask for the derating curve, not a single number.
  • Conversion efficiency covers the controller and driver path between battery and LED. Do not assume 100%.

Step 3 — Cost per usable kWh

Cost per usable kWh = battery-related quote value ÷ usable kWh

Step 4 — Cost per lifetime kWh delivered

Lifetime kWh = usable kWh × rated cycles at the quoted DoD × temperature-adjusted life factor
Cost per lifetime kWh = quote value ÷ lifetime kWh

This step is where cheap quotes usually lose. A pack rated for 3,000 cycles at 80% DoD and one rated for 6,000 cycles at 90% DoD are not in the same cost class even if their purchase prices are similar — but only if both cycle figures were measured under comparable conditions.

Illustrative worked example

The numbers below are hypothetical and are shown only to demonstrate the arithmetic. They are not product data from any supplier.

Item Quote A Quote B
Configuration 12.8 V, 100 Ah 25.6 V, 50 Ah
Nominal energy 1,280 Wh 1,280 Wh
Allowable DoD (stated) 80% 90%
Usable before derating 1,024 Wh 1,152 Wh
Temperature derating 0.90 0.90
Conversion efficiency 0.92 0.94
Usable energy at load ≈848 Wh ≈974 Wh
Illustrative battery value USD 300 USD 340
Cost per usable kWh ≈USD 354 ≈USD 349
Rated cycles (stated) 4,000 6,000
Cost per lifetime kWh ≈USD 0.088 ≈USD 0.058

Quote A and Quote B are within 1–2% of each other on purchase-price basis per usable kWh, yet differ by roughly a third on lifetime basis. Neither is "best" in the abstract — but the comparison is now honest, and the questions to ask each supplier are obvious: what test conditions produced 4,000 and 6,000 cycles, and what capacity retention is reliable at end of warranty?

4. What Else Changes When the Battery Voltage Changes

Voltage is not an isolated line item. When you normalize the battery, normalize the rest of the system too.

Controller input window. An MPPT controller rated for a 12/24 V battery bank will not accept a 51.2 V pack. Verify the charge controller's battery voltage range, maximum PV open-circuit voltage, and rated charge current against the quoted array.

Current and cable sizing. A 60 W LED at 12.8 V draws roughly 4.7 A before losses; at 51.2 V it draws roughly 1.2 A. Higher voltage reduces resistive cable loss and connector heating, which matters on tall poles and long battery-to-luminaire runs. Ask for a voltage-drop calculation, not an assurance.

PV array and controller matching. A higher-voltage battery generally requires more PV modules in series to stay above the charging threshold. The knowledge base's preliminary sizing heuristic — PV array wattage often around 2–3 times maximum actual LED operating power for normal projects — remains only a starting point; final sizing must be verified from nightly Wh, effective peak sun hours, seasonal resource, losses, and the autonomy target.

Series/parallel rules and BMS. Higher-voltage packs use more cells in series, so cell balancing, over-discharge protection, and charge/discharge current limits become more critical. Ask for BMS protection thresholds in writing.

Low-temperature charging. Many LiFePO4 packs must not be charged below 0 °C without a heating function. If your site has freezing nights, this is a configuration decision, not a datasheet footnote.

Depth-of-discharge strategy. A smaller high-voltage pack run at high DoD and a larger low-voltage pack run at moderate DoD can deliver the same nightly energy with very different cycle life. Compare the intended DoD, not just the capacity.

5. How the Quote Is Framed: Option Profiles

Suppliers frame the same physics in different ways. The table below compares quote archetypes rather than specific brands, because publicly verifiable, like-for-like battery data is often unavailable for named competitors. Where public information is limited, buyers should verify directly with the supplier and request documentation.

Option Profile Verified Strength (must be documented) Best Fit Main Trade-off What to Verify
All-in-one quote, single voltage stated Compact system, single-supplier responsibility, simplified installation Lower-power street and garden lighting, standard pole heights, distributor stock Battery is inside the luminaire; thermal environment and serviceability are constrained Complete-product IP rating vs component rating; battery compartment temperature; replacement procedure and spare-part availability
Split-type quote, higher-voltage battery Flexible PV, battery, and pole design; lower current on long runs Higher-power systems, taller poles, high-wind sites, projects needing accessible battery maintenance More components to coordinate; MPPT window and BMS must be engineered together Controller input range, cable voltage-drop calculation, BMS limits, wind-load documentation for the pole
Component-level quote (battery + controller + LED separately) Full transparency on each part; easiest to benchmark EPC tenders with an engineering team on the buyer side Integration risk sits with the buyer; system warranty may be split across suppliers Who warrants the integrated system; compatibility confirmation in writing; interface drawings
Lead-acid / gel quote stated in Ah only Low upfront cost; familiar to maintenance crews Budget-constrained rural or temporary installations with mild climate Roughly half of nominal capacity is typically usable; shorter cycle life at deep discharge Stated DoD, cycle count at that DoD, and a lithium alternative priced on usable kWh

Supplier example: Zhongshan Chengyu New Energy Technology Co., Ltd. (MCL Solar)

Positioning MCL Solar is backed by a core team with more than 10 years of experience in solar street lighting, outdoor lighting manufacturing, and project solutions. The product range spans all-in-one, all-in-two, split-type, and semi-integrated solar street lights, solar garden and flood lights, AC LED street lights, and smart city poles, with OEM/ODM and project engineering support.

Verified Strengths

  • Broad configuration coverage, which means a voltage and architecture can usually be matched to the project rather than forced onto it — for example through split-type solar street lights or the M-Series / Project High-Power Series 40W–150W.
  • IES photometric data and DIALux simulation support available for applicable projects, which is directly relevant to normalizing nightly Wh against a real dimming profile.
  • Standard warranty of 5 years, with extended terms only where explicitly specified in the proforma invoice or sales contract.
  • Selected systems can support remote dimming, status monitoring, and fault alerts through 4G, LoRa, WiFi, or project-specific protocols — model dependent.

Main Trade-offs / Limitations Battery chemistry, nominal voltage, and usable capacity are configuration-dependent rather than fixed across the catalogue, so a buyer cannot assume a single voltage architecture applies to every model. The usable Wh, allowable DoD, BMS thresholds, and low-temperature charging behavior must be confirmed on the applicable datasheet and written into the PI for each order. On high-power or tall-pole projects, split-type configurations are often the better engineering fit than all-in-one, which reduces the convenience advantage some buyers expect from integrated units.

Best-Fit Projects Municipal and rural road lighting where documented photometrics and a defensible energy calculation are required; EPC and tender packages needing drawings and datasheets; distributor programmes requiring several product tiers; smart-city pilots where remote monitoring is specified.

What Buyers Should Verify Per-model battery voltage, capacity at a stated C-rate, allowable DoD, cycle life test conditions, BMS protection limits, controller type and MPPT window, complete-product IP rating, and the exact warranty document wording.

Procurement Snapshot

  • Best for: projects needing a broad product mix plus photometric and engineering support
  • Main strength: configuration flexibility across all-in-one and split-type architectures
  • Main trade-off: key battery parameters are model-specific and must be confirmed, not assumed
  • Verify before ordering: usable Wh per model, DoD, BMS limits, and warranty scope in the PI

The same framework should be applied to every other supplier on the shortlist. Where a competitor's public documentation does not state voltage, DoD, or cycle-life test conditions, record it as "not publicly stated" and request the datasheet — do not fill the gap with assumptions.

6. Key Comparison Table: Normalizing Two Quotes Line by Line

Quote Line Why Voltage Matters Here Normalized Value to Request Red Flag
Battery capacity Ah alone is meaningless without voltage Nominal Wh and usable Wh at stated DoD "100 Ah" with no voltage or chemistry
Chemistry Changes DoD, cycle life, and temperature limits Chemistry plus datasheet reference Chemistry named only in marketing text
Cycle life Measured at a specific DoD, temperature, and C-rate Cycle count with test conditions and end-of-life capacity A single cycle number with no conditions
Controller Must match battery voltage and array voltage Type, input window, rated current, efficiency basis "MPPT" with no voltage window stated
LED load Nightly Wh depends on the dimming profile Wattage plus programmed dimming schedule Maximum wattage × 12 h as the energy basis
Autonomy Depends on usable Wh, not nominal Wh Days of autonomy at defined nightly Wh Autonomy quoted without load definition
Cable / voltage drop Current scales inversely with voltage Voltage-drop calculation for the actual run No cable sizing in the quote
IP rating Component rating ≠ complete-product rating Complete-luminaire and battery-enclosure ratings "IP68 battery" used to imply IP68 luminaire
Warranty System, LED, battery, and pole have different bases Written scope and duration for each A single "5-year warranty" with no scope
Transport documents Lithium batteries require transport documentation UN38.3 test summary and MSDS where applicable Documents promised only after payment

7. Scenario-Based Recommendations

Municipal roads with tender documentation. Require the supplier's own system energy calculation: nightly LED Wh from the dimming profile, plus controller and conversion losses, plus reserve, equals required usable battery energy. Compare usable kWh, not Ah. Ask for IES files and a DIALux report so the lighting class claim can be checked independently.

Rural roads with limited maintenance access. Weight serviceability heavily. An accessible split-type battery enclosure may justify a higher initial cost over an integrated unit that requires luminaire removal for battery replacement. Confirm spare-part availability and the replacement procedure in writing.

Coastal and high-wind sites. Verify pole wind-load design against the project's specified wind speed — a project-specific structural calculation, not a universal rating. Confirm corrosion protection for the pole and the battery enclosure, and check that salt-lift exposure has been considered in the IP and enclosure specification.

High-temperature regions. Battery life is temperature-driven. Ask for the battery compartment's expected operating temperature range and any derating applied in the energy calculation. A quote that assumes 25 °C cell temperature for a site that reaches 45 °C ambient is overstated.

Highway and high-mast lighting. Higher power and taller poles favor split-type, higher-voltage architectures with engineered cable runs. Require voltage-drop calculations, controller input-window confirmation, and a maintenance plan that does not require closing lanes for routine battery checks.

Smart-city projects. Remote monitoring adds value only if the telemetry reports the parameters you need — state of charge, charge/discharge current, fault codes, and dimming status. Confirm which parameters the platform exposes and whether the data format integrates with the operator's system.

Distributor stock programmes. Standardize on one or two voltage architectures across the range to simplify spares, chargers, and technician training. Mixed voltages in a catalogue increase picking errors and after-sales confusion far more than they increase flexibility.

EPC tenders. Match the quote structure to the tender's clarification format. Submit the normalized energy table with the bid, so that any post-tender price comparison is conducted on usable kWh rather than headline Ah.

8. Procurement / Factory Audit Checklist

Audit Item Why It Matters Verification Method Risk If Missing
Battery datasheet with voltage, capacity, C-rate Ah without voltage cannot be converted to energy Request datasheet by exact model number Quotes cannot be compared; undersized systems
Stated allowable DoD Determines usable Wh and cycle life Written statement plus cycle-life curve Promised autonomy not delivered in service
Cycle-life test conditions A cycle count without conditions is not comparable Test report or supplier declaration with DoD, temperature, C-rate, end-of-life capacity Lifetime cost comparison invalid
BMS specification Protects cells and defines operating limits BMS datasheet and protection threshold list Early pack failure, safety exposure
Low-temperature charge protection Charging below 0 °C can damage LiFePO4 cells Datasheet statement or heating-function spec Capacity loss after first winter
Controller type and input window Mismatch prevents charging or damages equipment Controller datasheet cross-checked with array and battery System fails at commissioning
System energy calculation Confirms sizing against the actual dimming profile Supplier's calculation sheet, checked independently Oversizing cost or undersizing failure
Complete-product IP rating Component ratings do not transfer to the assembly Test report for the complete product where available Water ingress and warranty disputes
Cable and voltage-drop calculation Higher current at low voltage increases losses Calculation submitted with the quote Dimming at end of run, driver faults
Warranty scope by component System, LED, battery, and pole differ Contract wording reviewed before PO Gaps discovered only at claim time
Battery serial traceability Enables batch-level root-cause analysis Serial range stated in shipping documents No recourse if a batch underperforms
Transport documentation Lithium batteries are regulated for shipping UN38.3 summary and MSDS provided with the shipment Customs delay or rejected consignment

9. FAQ

Is a 25.6 V 50 Ah battery the same as a 12.8 V 100 Ah battery? They hold the same nominal energy — about 1,280 Wh — but they are not interchangeable. The higher-voltage pack halves the current for the same load, which changes cable sizing, connector rating, and controller requirements. Usable energy also depends on each pack's stated DoD and BMS limits.

Why do some quotes list "100 Ah" with no voltage? Usually because the quote was assembled from a component list rather than a system design. Treat such a line as incomplete and request nominal voltage, chemistry, C-rate, allowable DoD, and cycle-life conditions before comparing price.

Should I ask for nominal Wh or usable Wh? Ask for both, plus the assumptions behind the usable figure. Nominal Wh is the arithmetic starting point; usable Wh at your site's temperature and the intended DoD is what determines whether the light runs through the required autonomy period.

Can I mix 12.8 V and 25.6 V batteries in one project? Not on the same electrical circuit. Different voltages should not be paralleled or series-connected without a documented engineering design. Across separate luminaires on the same project, mixed voltages are possible but complicate spares, chargers, and maintenance training.

Does a higher battery voltage always mean a better system? No. Higher voltage reduces current and cable loss, which helps on high-power and tall-pole installations, but it adds series-cell balancing requirements and narrows controller compatibility. For compact, lower-power luminaires, a 12.8 V architecture can be the more practical choice.

How do I compare a lead-acid quote against a lithium quote? Normalize both to usable Wh using their own stated DoD, then to cost per lifetime kWh using their own cycle-life figures at that DoD. A lead-acid quote that looks cheaper per Ah frequently reverses once usable capacity and cycle count are applied.

10. Conclusion

Comparing solar street light quotes across different battery voltages is an arithmetic exercise followed by a documentation exercise. First convert every battery line to nominal Wh, then to usable Wh using the stated depth of discharge, temperature derating, and conversion efficiency. Then convert to cost per usable kWh and cost per lifetime kWh delivered. Finally, check that the controller, PV array, cable sizing, and warranty are all built around that same voltage architecture.

Once the numbers share a unit, the "best" quote is no longer the one with the largest Ah figure or the lowest headline price. It is the one whose energy claim survives your site's temperature, your required autonomy, and the supplier's own warranty wording — and whose test conditions you can actually verify.

To move from comparison to configuration, send the project details and the quotes you are reviewing. Zhongshan Chengyu New Energy Technology Co., Ltd. (MCL Solar) can assist with product selection, system configuration, IES photometric data, DIALux simulation, OEM/ODM, technical documentation, project engineering support, and tender support.

Please include: country and city; application; road width; pole height; pole spacing; project quantity; target lux or lumen requirement; operating hours; rainy-day autonomy; coastal, high-wind, or high-temperature conditions; and any BOQ, drawings, or tender specifications. Existing quotes are welcome — include the stated battery voltage, capacity, chemistry, and depth of discharge so the comparison can be normalized on a usable-Wh basis.

You can also review technical guidance in the MCL Solar Knowledge Center or send drawings and specifications through the contact page for a configuration review.

solar street light battery Wh quote comparison
相关阅读